Why the Stigma?

If you were to tell me five years ago that I would be starting a blog on mental health, specifically on my experiences, that would’ve been my worst nightmare. I was just diagnosed and wanted to be as far as possible from this world of mental health. I was part of that group that gives mental illness its stigma. But hey, I am in no way blaming myself. I was just not informed and not taught about what it means to have a mental illness and what it comes with.

That’s the thing. People are not informed. I believe that a large part of the stigma is there because people are just not informed about this topic, and therefore making it taboo. It’s not every day that a high school has a class on mental illness.

Anyways, that’s why I want to try and shed light onto this topic. Mental illness should be talked about just like I would talk about hurting my foot. It won’t change overnight, but together I hope that it happens in our lifetime.

I appreciate those of you who have visited my blog and can’t wait to continue this journey with you.

Yours Truly,

Stigmasaywhat

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Why the Stigma?

Leave a Reply

