The Right Therapy?

There are so many different types of therapy; psychotherapy, CBT, DBT, family therapy, etc. But which one do you choose from? For myself, I started out with CBT but found for that particular moment in my life, it wasn’t working out. I then switched to psychotherapy which helped for a few years then suddenly it was like there was no point showing up to my therpist’s office anymore. I was still depressed, and felt stuck in my therapy routine. I am now doing DBT which has been working thus far for me. By knowing which therapy will work for you I believe is trial and error and has to do with what moment in time you are in. One kind of therapy can be great now but in a few years you might have to switch. Or, you can go your whole life and never have to switch. So I ask, how did you know what kind of therapy to seek help with and has it been helpful to you?

Yours Truly,

Stigmasaywhat

 

2 thoughts on “The Right Therapy?

  1. Honestly, one day I just googled “therapy for depression” and CBT seemed to be the most popular option. I’d heard about it a lot so I decided to give it a go. I’ve been doing it for 6 months now and it has really helped me. I think it has been effective because naturally I’m really driven to improve myself so I built a strong connection with my therapist, I committed to the tasks and I tried to understand the purpose behind our sessions. I was determined to improve my state of mind because I was tired of feeling the way I did. So I took it very seriously and I’m really grateful that it has worked out 🙂

    Best of luck with DBT! ♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

