Relapsing: part of the journey

I think that relapses are part of life. When you have one, of course you say “fuck I just went back to my old ways,” but relapses are part of the healing journey. Nobody in particular wants to relapse, but it is what it is. It’s how you deal with that relapse that matters. Ok, so you relapsed, now it’s your choice to dwell on it or acknowledge that it happened and continue on with your life. It’s much easier said than done. Normally when I relapse I like to dwell on it making it harder to move on. I am still healing, and so are you. This is a life long journey and there are going to be fuck ups, but we must not let those define our journey. We have the power to get right back up and keep fighting. Relapses don’t define our strength, but the strength we have to get back up does.

Yours Truly,

Stigmasaywhat

6 thoughts on “Relapsing: part of the journey

  1. I love this! It is so true, relapses are always part of life and definitely part of the recovery journey. It’s easy to tell ourselves we’ve failed, but in reality it sometimes can’t be helped and it helps us grow and learn further to make more progress. One of my favourite quotes is “fall down seven times, get up eight” which I think definitely links to this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

