That damn scale….

I weighed myself for the first time in a month. I was sure the number was going to go down. I was feeling better and not binging. To my surprise, it went up. That of course started a binge out of sadness.  Why does this number really matter? Why are we all fixated on that number being lower and lower each time we weigh ourselves? I was getting comfortable in my body but then bam!….the number hit me like a ton of bricks. Is the answer to just not weigh myself or to ignore the number? How do you guys handle the scale?

Yours Truly,

Stigmasaywhat 

2 thoughts on “That damn scale….

  1. I dont have a scale in our house. There was a time when I weighed myself many, many times a day. I was obsessed with what it said and as you can imagine was the start of a nasty bout with an eating disorder. So, after getting some help out of the house it went. 30 years ago! Not saying that’s the right way but for me it was the best way.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This happened to me recently, after 6 months of intuitive eating and working on accepting my weight and body. It has something to do with summer for me, wearing clothes that show off more of my body during the warmer months. So, that one trigger. I also think it’s not really about the number on the scale, rather that it triggers certain feelings that I can’t or don’t know how to feel. I recently found this article on dissociation and bulimia that I found interesting and thought provoking.

    http://ct.counseling.org/2012/12/understanding-bulimic-dissociation-to-create-new-pathways-for-change/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

